Migraines and Headaches

What is a migraine?

Migraines are among the most common and disabling neurological disorders.

They are characterized by recurrent, moderate to severe headaches that may be preceded by sensory alert symptoms, such as an aura. Migraines can last from four hours to three days, and sufferers often have to miss work or school because they cannot function normally.

This disorder affects about 10 % of the population in Europe, but is more common in women than in men (18 % vs. 8 %). There are many triggers for migraine episodes, including certain foods such as processed foods and chocolate, lack of sleep, stress, hormonal fluctuations during menstruation, pregnancy or menopause.

Who suffers from migraines?

Migraines can affect people of all ages, but they are more common in adults.

  • 4 to 9 % of people with migraines, are more common in women.
  • The first episode of migraine usually occurs between the ages of 10 and 19
  • 5 to 7% of children suffer from migraines, while here an estimated 16% develop them before reaching puberty.
  • However, they are not limited to adults, as 4-5 % of adults aged 45-64 years also suffer from migraines.

What symptoms should I look for if I think I have a migraine?

It is important to be able to recognize the symptoms of a migraine so that you can start treating them in time. The signs of a migraine can vary, and may include:

  • A severe headache (sometimes accompanied by a throbbing or pounding sensation) that may worsen or continue for an extended period of time.
  •  Sensitivity to light and sound, which can lead to total isolation from these types of stimuli.
  • Temporary changes in vision, such as blurred vision, blind spots or partial loss of vision
  • Other symptoms such as stomach upset, weight loss or mood changes.
  • Increased frequency of migraine episodes in people who suffer from frequent daily headaches. These types of "chronic" migraines often become less painful over time because the body gets used to them; however, they continue to cause daily suffering.

What causes migraines?

The exact cause of migraines is unknown, but current research points to abnormal functioning of the brain and nervous system.
In recent years, scientists have identified several factors that may contribute to the development of migraines, including

Genetics

Migraine is one of the most common types of headaches and can affect anyone at any age. However, people with a family history of headaches are more likely to develop migraine.

Stress

People with depression or other psychiatric illnesses such as obsessive-compulsive disorder (OCD) and stress-related disorders also tend to suffer from migraines as a side effect.

Hormonal changes

When women experience menstrual disorders, hormones change dramatically, which can trigger the onset of migraines in some patients. In fact, migraines account for about 90 % of all hormone-related headaches in women each month during their menstrual cycle

Food and beverages

- Food allergies, sensitivities or intolerances to certain foods can trigger migraines in some people.
- Caffeine, alcohol and dehydration can also cause migraines in the absence of other triggers

 

How long do they usually last?

Migraines can last from a few hours to a few days.

 

What does the aura look like for those who have one?

An aura is a neurological phenomenon that can precede the onset of a migraine. Usually, the aura manifests itself as a visual disturbance that appears as zigzag lines and spots in your field of vision.

 

What should I do if I experience an aura?

If you experience an aura and recognize it for what it is (i.e., a sign that you are about to have a migraine), allow yourself to rest and avoid sensory stimuli such as bright lights or noises, which may make your symptoms worse.

 

Can migraine symptoms change at different times in life, such as puberty or pregnancy?

Migraine symptoms can change at different times in life, such as during puberty or pregnancy. For example, some women experience more migraines during their menstrual cycle, while others find their migraines worsen during pregnancy.

 

Do you have any good tips for dealing with migraines when they occur (or in advance)?

There are several things you can do to help prevent or treat migraines when they occur:

  • Identify your migraine triggers and try to avoid them as much as possible
  • Make sure you get enough sleep
  • Drink plenty of water and eat regularly
  • Apply ice or a cold pack to the forehead or temples to relieve pain
  • Contact your chiropractor for an adjustment.

What are the benefits of chiropractic care for migraines?

  • Pain relief
  • Improved quality of life
  • Reduction of the need for medication

Chiropractors are highly trained in spinal manipulation, which helps relieve the tension on the nerves associated with headaches as well as other musculoskeletal problems. This allows your body to function properly so that you can live your life without any limitations or restrictions caused by these types of conditions or symptoms!

Do you suffer from migraines?

Today, migraines can be treated with chiropractic care. Several studies have shown that chiropractic care is an effective treatment for migraines and can help reduce the frequency and severity of migraine attacks.

Similar articles

Lumbago

Lumbago (also known as lumbar sprain, low back pain or spinal strain) is a condition that affects about four out of ten people at some point in their lives and can vary in severity from person to person. But there are a number of ways to prevent recurrence of lumbago.

Fatigue

We all have more stressful days than others, but if you can find a way to help your body relax and release tension, it will be easier for your mind to rest. This includes both mental tasks like meditation or deep breathing exercises, as well as physical activities like yoga or stretching. Here are some ideas on how to improve your sleep and avoid fatigue.

Herniated disc

The root cause of a herniated disc is not always clear, but there are several factors that can contribute to their development. Seeing a chiropractor for a herniated disc will help develop a proper care plan that may include physical exercises and other chiropractic treatments

Low back pain

Lower back pain is a common problem for many people. It can be caused by a variety of factors, such as poor posture, stress and arthritis. There are a number of ways to relieve low back pain, such as applying ice or heat, stretching and exercise, and pain relievers. Chiropractic care can also be beneficial in relieving low back pain.

Jaw pain

When your jaw is misaligned, it puts pressure on other parts of your body. This causes stress in places like your lower back or neck, which can lead to jaw pain. Chiropractic care helps restore proper alignment, so that you no longer have to suffer from pain caused by misalignment!

Pourquoi la Chiropraxie ?

Why Chiropractic?

Why Chiropractic? Chiropractic: a natural, non-medicated, preventive and curative response. Chiropractic care is the most widely used alternative health treatment...

the spine

The spine is important for the protection of the spinal cord. The spinal cord contains the messages that are sent between the brain and the different parts of the body. These messages are essential for transmitting information about sensation, movement, balance and other functions.

Stress

Stress is something we all experience in our daily lives. The different types of stress can be physical (in the form of bad postures and repetitive movements), chemical (due to diet, what we breathe, hydration, drugs, medications or alcohol), emotional (due to emotional trauma) as well as many unhealthy habits.

Neck pain

Neck pain is a common problem that can be caused by a variety of factors such as poor posture, stress or even injury. If you suffer from neck pain, there are steps you can take to relieve the discomfort and improve your condition. Here is a summary of what you need to know about neck pain and how to prevent it from returning.

Back pain

Back pain is often caused by poor posture or incorrect movements repeated over time. This can lead to chronic back problems rather than acute injuries. Chiropractors use manual adjustments and other treatments to help relieve pain and improve function.

Migraines et Maux de tête

Qu’est-ce qu’une migraine ?

Les migraines sont parmi les troubles neurologiques les plus courants et les plus invalidants.

Elles sont caractérisées par des maux de tête récurrents, modérés à sévères, qui peuvent être précédés de symptômes d’alerte sensorielles, comme une aura. Les migraines peuvent durer de quatre heures à trois jours, et les personnes qui en souffrent doivent souvent s’absenter du travail ou de l’école parce qu’elles ne peuvent pas fonctionner normalement.

Ce trouble affecte environ 10 % de la population en Europe, mais il est plus répandu chez les femmes que chez les hommes (18 % contre 8 %)Il existe de nombreux facteurs déclenchant les épisodes migraineux, notamment certains aliments comme les aliments transformées et le chocolat, le manque de sommeil, le stress, les fluctuations hormonales pendant les menstruations, la grossesse ou la ménopause.

Qui souffre de migraines ?

Les migraines peuvent toucher des personnes de tout âge, mais elles sont plus fréquentes chez les adultes.

  • 4 à 9 % des personnes souffrant de migraines, sont plus fréquentes chez les femmes.
  • Le premier épisode de migraine survient généralement entre 10 et 19 ans
  • 5 à 7% des enfants souffrent de migraines, tandis qu’ici on estime que 16% les développent avant d’atteindre la puberté.
  • Elles ne sont toutefois pas limitées à l’âge adulte, puisque 4 à 5 % des adultes âgés de 45 à 64 ans souffrent également de migraines.

Quels symptômes dois-je observer si je pense avoir une migraine ?

Il est important de pouvoir reconnaître les symptômes de la migraine afin de pouvoir commencer à les traiter à temps. Les signes d’une migraine peuvent varier, et peuvent inclure :

  • Un mal de tête intense (parfois accompagné d’une sensation de pulsation ou d’élancement) qui peut s’aggraver ou se poursuivre pendant une période prolongée.
  •  Une sensibilité à la lumière et au son, qui peut conduire à s’isoler totalement de ces types de stimuli.
  • Des changements temporaires de la vision, comme une vision floue, des taches aveugles ou une perte partielle de la vision
  • D’autres symptômes tels que des maux d’estomac, une perte de poids ou des changements d’humeur.
  • Augmentation de la fréquence des épisodes migraineux chez les personnes qui souffrent de maux de tête quotidiens fréquents. Ces types de migraines “chroniques” deviennent souvent moins douloureuses avec le temps parce que le corps s’y habitue ; cependant, elles continuent à causer une souffrance quotidienne.

Quelle est la cause des migraines ?

La cause exacte des migraines est inconnue, mais les recherches actuelles mettent en évidence un fonctionnement anormal du cerveau et du système nerveux.
Ces dernières années, les scientifiques ont cependant identifié plusieurs facteurs pouvant contribuer au développement des migraines et notamment:

La génétique

La migraine est l’un des types de maux de tête les plus courants et peut toucher n’importe qui, à n’importe quel âge. Toutefois, les personnes ayant des antécédents familiaux de maux de tête sont plus susceptibles de développer la migraine.

Le stress

Les personnes souffrant de dépression ou d’autres maladies psychiatriques comme le trouble obsessionnel-compulsif (TOC) et les troubles liés au stress ont également tendance à souffrir de migraines comme effet secondaire.

Les changements hormonaux

Lorsque les femmes ont des troubles menstruelles, les hormones changent considérablement, ce qui peut déclencher chez certaines patientes un début de migraine. En fait, les migraines représentent environ 90 % de tous les maux de tête liés aux hormones chez les femmes chaque mois pendant leur cycle menstruel

Les aliments et boissons

– Les allergies, sensibilités ou intolérances alimentaires à certains aliments peuvent déclencher des migraines chez certaines personnes.
– La caféine, l’alcool et la déshydratation peuvent également provoquer des migraines en l’absence d’autres facteurs déclenchant

 

Combien de temps durent-elles généralement ?

Les migraines peuvent durer de quelques heures à quelques jours.

 

À quoi ressemble l’aura pour ceux qui en ont une ?

Une aura est un phénomène neurologique qui peut précéder l’apparition d’une migraine. Habituellement, l’aura se manifeste par une perturbation visuelle qui se présente sous la forme de lignes en zigzag et de taches dans votre champ de vision.

 

Que dois-je faire si je fais l’expérience d’une aura ?

Si vous ressentez une aura et la reconnaissez pour ce qu’elle est (c’est-à-dire un signe que vous êtes sur le point d’avoir une migraine), permettez-vous de vous reposer et évitez tout stimulus sensoriel tel que des lumières ou des bruits forts, qui pourraient aggraver vos symptômes.

 

Les symptômes de la migraine peuvent-ils changer à différents moments de la vie, comme la puberté ou la grossesse ?

Les symptômes de la migraine peuvent changer à différents moments de la vie, comme pendant la puberté ou la grossesse. Par exemple, certaines femmes ressentent davantage de migraines pendant leur cycle menstruel, tandis que d’autres trouvent que leurs migraines s’aggravent pendant la grossesse.

 

Avez-vous de bons conseils pour faire face aux migraines lorsqu’elles surviennent (ou à l’avance) ?

Il y a plusieurs choses que vous pouvez faire pour aider à prévenir ou à traiter les migraines lorsqu’elles surviennent :

  • Identifiez vos déclencheurs de migraine et essayez de les éviter autant que possible
  • Veillez à dormir suffisamment
  • Buvez beaucoup d’eau et mangez régulièrement
  • Appliquez de la glace ou une poche froide sur le front ou les tempes pour soulager la douleur
  • Contacter votre chiropracteur afin qu’il vous ajuste.

Quels sont les avantages des soins chiropratiques pour les migraines ?

  • Soulagement de la douleur
  • Amélioration de la qualité de vie
  • Réduction du besoin de médicaments

Les chiropracteurs sont hautement qualifiés en matière de manipulation de la colonne vertébrale, ce qui permet de soulager la tension sur les nerfs associée aux maux de tête ainsi qu’à d’autres problèmes musculo-squelettiques. Cela permet à votre corps de fonctionner correctement afin que vous puissiez vivre votre vie sans aucune limitation ou restriction causée par ces types de conditions ou de symptômes !

Vous souffrez de migraines?

Aujourd’hui les migraines peuvent être traitées par la chiropraxie. Plusieurs recherches ont montré que les soins chiropratiques constituent un traitement efficace des migraines et peuvent contribuer à réduire la fréquence et la gravité des crises migraineuses.

Articles similaires

Le stress

Le stress est un phénomène que nous subissons tous dans notre vie quotidienne. Les différents types de stress peuvent être physiques (sous la forme de mauvaises postures et de mouvements répétitifs), chimiques (en raison de l’alimentation, de ce que nous respirons, de l’hydratation, des des drogues, médicaments ou encore de l’alcool), émotionnels (en raison d’un traumatisme émotionnel) ainsi que des nombreuses habitudes non adaptées à la santé.

La cruralgie

La cruralgie est un type de douleur qui affecte le bas du dos et les jambes. Elle est le plus souvent causée par une mauvaise mécanique corporelle, des spasmes musculaires ou une hernie discale. Les soins chiropratiques se sont avérés être un moyen efficace de réduire la douleur chronique et d’améliorer la mobilité

Douleurs de mâchoire

Lorsque votre mâchoire est mal alignée, elle exerce une pression sur d’autres parties de votre corps. Cela provoque un stress dans des endroits comme le bas du dos ou le cou, ce qui peut entraîner des douleurs de mâchoire. Les soins chiropratiques aident à rétablir un alignement correct, de sorte que vous n’ayez plus à souffrir de douleurs causées par un mauvais alignement !

La cervicalgie

Les douleurs cervicales sont un problème courant qui peut être causé par divers facteurs tels qu’une mauvaise posture, le stress ou même une blessure. Si vous souffrez de douleurs cervicales, vous pouvez prendre certaines mesures pour soulager l’inconfort et améliorer votre état. Voici un résumé de ce que vous devez savoir sur la cervicalgie et comment éviter qu’elle ne revienne.

la colonne vertébrale

La colonne vertébrale est importante pour la protection de la moelle épinière. La moelle épinière contient les messages qui sont envoyés entre le cerveau et les différentes parties du corps. Ces messages sont essentiels pour transmettre des informations sur les sensations, les mouvements, l’équilibre et d’autres fonctions.

Les douleurs de dos

Les douleurs de dos sont souvent causées par une mauvaise posture ou des mouvements incorrects répétés dans le temps. Cela peut entraîner des problèmes de dos chroniques plutôt que des blessures aiguës. Les chiropracteurs utilisent des ajustements manuels et d’autres traitements pour aider à soulager la douleur et à améliorer le fonctionnement.

La névralgie cervico-brachiale

La névralgie cervico-brachiale est un type de lésion nerveuse qui provoque des douleurs dans le bras, l’épaule et le cou.La douleur se déplace souvent et il peut être difficile de déterminer d’où elle provient. Ce type de névralgie est une compression du nerf qui peut être causée par une pression provenant de l’extérieur ou de l’intérieur des cervicales.

La sciatique

Si vous ressentez une douleur dans la région du dos et des fesses, des picotements ou un engourdissement le long de la cuisse ou du mollet, qui irradie vers l’arrière du genou ou du pied, vous souffrez probablement d’une sciatique. La compression sciatique peut provoquer des sensations de fourmillement dans un ou plusieurs orteils ainsi que des difficultés à contrôler les muscles de la région pelvienne.

Lumbago

Le lumbago (également connu sous le nom d’entorse lombaire, de lombalgie ou d’élongation musculaire de la colonne vertébrale) est une affection qui touche environ quatre personnes sur dix à un moment donné de leur vie et dont la gravité peut varier d’une personne à l’autre. Mais il existe un certain nombre de moyens de prévenir la récurrence du lumbago.

Pourquoi la Chiropraxie ?

Pourquoi la Chiropraxie ?

Pourquoi la Chiropraxie ?La chiropraxie: une réponse naturelle, non-médicamenteuse, à la fois préventive et curative. Les soins chiropratiques sont le traitement de santé alternatif le plus utilisé...