What is lumbago and what causes it?

Lumbago (also known as lumbar sprain, low back pain or spinal strain) is a condition that affects about four out of ten people at some point in their lives.

This common type of musculoskeletal pain causes a dull sensation of pain that usually affects one or both sides of the lower back. The pain may be accompanied by muscle spasms, stiffness and severe tenderness in the affected area.

Lumbago can also cause sciatica-like symptoms, such as pain that radiates along the sciatic nerve and down one or both legs.

The severity of lumbago can vary from person to person. Some people experience only brief episodes of lumbago, while others may suffer from chronic lumbago that lasts for months or years.

Symptoms of lumbago

Symptoms of lumbago may include:

  • A dull and constant pain
  • A sudden, sharp pain
  • Muscle spasms
  • Stiffness or tingling
  • An analgesic posture, the trunk bent on the side.

How do you know if you have lumbago?

It is difficult to identify if a person is suffering from lumbago. To confirm a diagnosis of lumbago, a chiropractor will perform a postural examination, look for muscle spasms in the lower back and ask questions about your symptoms.

 

How chiropractic can help you relieve your back pain

Chiropractic is a form of treatment that focuses on the proper functioning of the spine. Chiropractors use a variety of techniques, such as spinal adjustments and manipulations, to help restore spinal alignment and reduce pain. Chiropractic can be an effective method of treating back pain and other conditions that affect the nervous system.

Your chiropractor will perform a postural examination, ask questions about the patient's symptoms and recommend specific physical exercises for back pain.

Types of lumbago treatments

There are a variety of treatments available for lumbago. The most common treatments are

  • Rest: When you are in pain, it is important to rest your body. Take time to relax and allow your body to heal.
  • Ice packs: Applying ice packs can help reduce inflammation and pain. Place the ice pack on the affected area for 10 to 15 minutes, 3 times a day.
  • Heat pockets: Applying heat packs can help improve circulation and relieve pain. Place the heat pack on the area for 10 to 15 minutes, 3 times a day.
  • Analgesics, infiltration: When you have lumbago, painkillers and anti-inflammatory drugs can help relieve pain and inflammation. Follow the advice of your general practitioner.
  • Chiropractic: Chiropractors are experts in the diagnosis and treatment of nervous system conditions. Your chiropractor can help you manage your condition by teaching you exercises to strengthen your back muscles for better support and help reduce stress on your spine, which can reduce the pain caused by lumbago.
  • Physiotherapy: A physical therapist can be helpful for back rehabilitation, maintaining muscle strength and range of motion.
  • Surgery: Surgery is usually proposed as a last resort. Lumbago is often acute but recovers within a few days. If the lumbago has not improved with treatments such as rest, physical therapy and pain medication, your doctor may recommend further tests and refer you to a specialist to discuss surgery to remove pressure on the affected nerves.

Why should you see a chiropractor if you have been diagnosed with chronic back pain or sciatica?

The chiropractor, expert of the nervous system

Chiropractors are experts in the health of your spine and nervous system, they can provide a variety of treatments to help relieve chronic back pain or sciatica. Some of the techniques chiropractors can use include spinal adjustments, manipulations and pacing. Chiropractors can also help you maintain good posture and reduce stress, both of which are known to contribute to back pain. If you have been diagnosed with chronic back pain or sciatica, it is important to see a chiropractor for treatment.

Chiropractic and its benefits

The benefits of chiropractic are numerous, but more generally, the chiropractic benefits are:

  • Adjustments and manipulations that restore proper function to your spine and improve mobility
  • Tips on how to exercise for low back pain and how to avoid future injuries
  • Healthier lifestyle habits, such as maintaining a healthy weight and good posture

Ways to prevent recurrence of lumbago

There are a number of ways to prevent recurrence of lumbago.

Here are some of them:

  • Exercise regularly: Proper exercise and stretching can help relieve back pain, improve posture and keep your spine in shape. Exercise can also help reduce stress, which is known to contribute to back pain.
  • Maintain a healthy weight: Carrying extra pounds around the abdomen puts extra pressure on the lower spine. Avoiding this pressure is one of the best ways to prevent lumbago.
  • Apply ice packs: The local cryotherapy and about ten minutes has an analgesic effect.
  • Apply heat compresses: Apply heat to your lower back if you experience muscle spasms or stiffness. Heat can help improve circulation and relieve pain.
  • Limit stressful activities: Limiting physical activity when your lower back is sore can help prevent future episodes of lumbago.
  • Avoid prolonged periods of sitting or standing: Lifting heavy objects regularly can strain your back. Prevent injuries by lifting with your legs instead of bending over to pick up objects.
  • Practice good posture: Having good posture can help reduce pressure on the back.
  • Strengthen back muscles with regular exercise: When you have lumbago, it is often difficult to do regular exercises. However, when you feel better it is important to get back to activating your back and abdominal muscles.

Do you suffer from lumbago?

Our goal is to help you get rid of your acute back pain. With our help, we are confident that you will find relief and your quality of life will improve. If you would like to learn more about how chiropractic care can help you with low back pain or sciatica, please make an appointment with one of our chiropractors.

Similar articles

the spine

The spine is important for the protection of the spinal cord. The spinal cord contains the messages that are sent between the brain and the different parts of the body. These messages are essential for transmitting information about sensation, movement, balance and other functions.

Sciatica

If you have pain in your back and buttocks, tingling or numbness along your thigh or calf that radiates to the back of your knee or foot, you probably have sciatica. Sciatica compression can cause tingling sensations in one or more toes as well as difficulty controlling muscles in the pelvic area.

Back pain

Back pain is often caused by poor posture or incorrect movements repeated over time. This can lead to chronic back problems rather than acute injuries. Chiropractors use manual adjustments and other treatments to help relieve pain and improve function.

Stress

Stress is something we all experience in our daily lives. The different types of stress can be physical (in the form of bad postures and repetitive movements), chemical (due to diet, what we breathe, hydration, drugs, medications or alcohol), emotional (due to emotional trauma) as well as many unhealthy habits.

Herniated disc

The root cause of a herniated disc is not always clear, but there are several factors that can contribute to their development. Seeing a chiropractor for a herniated disc will help develop a proper care plan that may include physical exercises and other chiropractic treatments

Neck pain

Neck pain is a common problem that can be caused by a variety of factors such as poor posture, stress or even injury. If you suffer from neck pain, there are steps you can take to relieve the discomfort and improve your condition. Here is a summary of what you need to know about neck pain and how to prevent it from returning.

Jaw pain

When your jaw is misaligned, it puts pressure on other parts of your body. This causes stress in places like your lower back or neck, which can lead to jaw pain. Chiropractic care helps restore proper alignment, so that you no longer have to suffer from pain caused by misalignment!

Fatigue

We all have more stressful days than others, but if you can find a way to help your body relax and release tension, it will be easier for your mind to rest. This includes both mental tasks like meditation or deep breathing exercises, as well as physical activities like yoga or stretching. Here are some ideas on how to improve your sleep and avoid fatigue.

Cruralgia

Cruralgia is a type of pain that affects the lower back and legs. It is most often caused by poor body mechanics, muscle spasms or a herniated disc. Chiropractic care has proven to be an effective way to reduce chronic pain and improve mobility

Migraine

Migraines are among the most common and disabling neurological disorders
They are characterized by recurrent, moderate to severe headaches, which may be preceded by sensory warning symptoms, such as an aura. Migraines can last from four hours to three days, and sufferers often have to miss work or school because they cannot function normally.

Cervicobrachial neuralgia

Cervicobrachial neuralgia is a type of nerve damage that causes pain in the arm, shoulder and neck.The pain often travels and it can be difficult to determine where it is coming from. The pain often travels and it can be difficult to determine where it is coming from. This type of neuralgia is a compression of the nerve that can be caused by pressure from outside or inside the neck.

Low back pain

Lower back pain is a common problem for many people. It can be caused by a variety of factors, such as poor posture, stress and arthritis. There are a number of ways to relieve low back pain, such as applying ice or heat, stretching and exercise, and pain relievers. Chiropractic care can also be beneficial in relieving low back pain.

Le Lumbago

Qu’est-ce qu’un lumbago et quelles en sont les causes?

Le lumbago (également connu sous le nom d’entorse lombaire, de lombalgie ou d’élongation musculaire de la colonne vertébrale) est une affection qui touche environ quatre personnes sur dix à un moment donné de leur vie.

Ce type courant de douleur musculo-squelettique provoque une sensation sourde de douleur qui affecte généralement un ou deux côtés du bas du dos. La douleur peut s’accompagner de spasmes musculaires, de raideur et de forte sensibilité dans la région touchée.

Le lumbago peut également provoquer des symptômes de type sciatique, comme une douleur qui irradie le long du nerf sciatique et dans l’une ou les deux jambes.

La gravité du lumbago peut varier d’une personne à l’autre. Certaines personnes ne connaissent que de brefs épisodes de lumbago, tandis que d’autres peuvent souffrir d’un lumbalgie chronique qui dure des mois voire des années.

Symptômes du lumbago

Les symptômes du lumbago peuvent inclure :

  • Une douleur sourde et constante
  • Une douleur soudaine et vive
  • Des spasmes musculaires
  • Une raideur ou des picotements
  • Une posture antalgique, le tronc plié sur le côté.

Comment savoir si vous avez un lumbago?

Il est difficile d’identifier si une personne souffre de lumbago. Pour confirmer le diagnostic de lumbago, un chiropracteur procédera à un examen postural, il recherchera d’éventuels spasmes musculaires dans le bas du dos et posera des questions sur vos symptômes.

 

Comment la chiropraxie peut vous aider à soulager votre mal de dos

La chiropraxie est une forme de traitement qui se concentre sur le bon fonctionnement de la colonne vertébrale. Les chiropraticiens utilisent diverses techniques, telles que les ajustements et les manipulations vertébrales, pour aider à rétablir l’alignement de la colonne vertébrale et à réduire la douleur. La chiropraxie peut être une méthode efficace des maux de dos et d’autres affections qui affectent le système nerveux.

Votre chiropracteur effectuera un examen postural, posera des questions sur les symptômes du patient et recommandera des exercices physiques spécifiques pour le mal de dos.

Types de traitements du lumbago

Il existe une variété de traitements disponibles pour le lumbago. Les traitements les plus courants sont les suivants

  • Le repos: Lorsque vous avez mal, il est important de reposer votre corps. Prenez le temps de vous détendre et de permettre à votre corps de guérir.
  • Les poches de glace: L’application de poches de glace peut aider à réduire l’inflammation et la douleur. Placez la poche de glace sur la zone concernée pendant 10 à 15 minutes, 3 fois par jour.
  • Poches de chaleur: L’application de compresses thermiques peut aider à améliorer la circulation sanguine et à soulager la douleur. Placez la poche de chaleur sur la zone pendant10 à 15 minutes, 3 fois par jour.
  • Les antalgiques, l’infiltration: Lorsque vous souffrez d’un lumbago, les antalgiques et les anti-inflammatoires peuvent aider à soulager la douleur et l’inflammation. Suivez les conseils de votre médecin généraliste.
  • La chiropraxie: Les chiropracteurs sont des experts dans le diagnostic et le traitement des affections du système nerveux. Votre chiropracteur peut vous aider à gérer votre état en vous enseignant des exercices pour renforcer les muscles de votre dos afin de mieux le soutenir et vous aider à réduire le stress sur votre colonne vertébrale, ce qui peut diminuer la douleur causée par le lumbago.
  • La kinésithérapie: Un kinésithérapeute peut être utile pour la rééducation du dos, maintenir la force musculaire et l’amplitude des mouvements.
  • Chirurgie: La chirurgie est généralement proposée en dernier recours. Un lumbago est souvent aiguë mais on récupère en quelques jours. Si le lumbago ne s’est pas amélioré avec des traitements tels que le repos, la kinésithérapie et les médicaments contre la douleur, votre médecin peut recommander des examens complémentaire et vous référez à un spécialiste afin de parler d’une intervention chirurgicale pour supprimer la pression sur les nerfs affectés.

Pourquoi vous devriez consulter un chiropracteur si l’on vous a diagnostiqué un mal de dos chronique ou une sciatique?

Le chiropracteur, expert du système nerveux

Les chiropracteurs sont des experts de la santé de votre colonne vertébrale et du système nerveux, ils peuvent fournir une variété de traitements pour aider à soulager le mal de dos chronique ou la sciatique. Parmi les techniques que les chiropracteurs peuvent utiliser figurent les ajustements de la colonne vertébrale, les manipulations et l’accompagnement en fonction du rythme du patient. Les chiropracteurs peuvent également vous aider à maintenir une bonne posture et à réduire le stress, deux facteurs connus pour contribuer au mal de dos. Si l’on vous a diagnostiqué un mal de dos chronique ou une sciatique, il est important de consulter un chiropracteur pour vous faire soigner.

La chiropraxie et ses bienfaits

Les bienfaits de la chiropraxie sont nombreux mais de façon plus générale, les avantages chiropratiques sont:

  • Ajustements et manipulations qui rétablissent le bon fonctionnement de votre colonne vertébrale et améliorent la mobilité
  • Des conseils sur les exercices à faire en cas de lombalgie et sur la façon d’éviter les blessures futures
  • Des habitudes de vie plus saine, comme le maintien d’un poids santé et une bonne posture

Les moyens d’éviter que le lumbago ne se reproduise

Il existe un certain nombre de moyens de prévenir la récurrence du lumbago.

En voici quelques-unes :

  • Faire de l’exercice régulièrement: Des exercices et des étirements appropriés peuvent aider à soulager les douleurs du dos, améliorer la posture et maintenir votre colonne vertébrale en forme. L’exercice peut également aider à réduire le stress, qui est connu pour contribuer au mal de dos.
  • Maintenez un poids forme : Le fait de porter des kilos en trop autour de l’abdomen exerce une pression supplémentaire sur le bas de la colonne vertébrale. Éviter cette pression est l’un des meilleurs moyens de prévenir le lumbago.
  • Appliquez des poches de glace : La cryothérapie locale et une dizaine de minutes a une effet antalgique.
  • Appliquez des compresses de chaleur : Appliquez de la chaleur sur le bas du dos si vous ressentez des spasmes musculaires ou des raideurs. La chaleur peut aider à améliorer la circulation et à soulager la douleur.
  • Limitez les activités stressantes : Limiter son activité physique lorsque le bas du dos est douloureux peut aider à prévenir de futurs épisodes de lumbago.
  • Éviter les périodes prolongées en position assise ou debout: Soulever régulièrement des objets lourds peut fatiguer votre dos. Prévenez les blessures en soulevant avec vos jambes au lieu de vous pencher pour ramasser des objets.
  • Pratiquez une bonne posture : Avoir une bonne posture peut aider à réduire la pression sur le dos.
  • Renforcez les muscles du dos en faisant régulièrement de l’exercice : Lorsque vous souffrez d’un lumbago, il est souvent difficile de faire des exercices réguliers. Cependant, lorsque vous vous sentez mieux il est important de reprendre à activer les muscles de votre dos et vos muscles abdominaux.

Vous souffrez d'un lumbago?

Notre objectif est de vous aider à vous débarrasser de votre mal de dos aigu. Grâce à notre aide, nous sommes convaincus que vous serez soulagé et que votre qualité de vie s’améliorera. Si vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur la façon dont les soins chiropratiques peuvent vous aider en cas de lombalgie ou de sciatique, veuillez prendre rendez-vous avec l’un de nos chiropracteurs.

Articles similaires

Les douleurs de dos

Les douleurs de dos sont souvent causées par une mauvaise posture ou des mouvements incorrects répétés dans le temps. Cela peut entraîner des problèmes de dos chroniques plutôt que des blessures aiguës. Les chiropracteurs utilisent des ajustements manuels et d’autres traitements pour aider à soulager la douleur et à améliorer le fonctionnement.

Le torticolis

Le torticolis est un terme médical utilisé pour décrire comment les muscles de votre cou sont mal alignés, ce qui les amène à se tordre ou à tourner sur eux-mêmes. Cela peut entraîner des maux de tête, des douleurs dorsales, des douleurs aux épaules, etc. La chiropraxie est un moyen efficace et naturel de traiter le torticolis et de restaurer la mobilité.

La fatigue

Nous avons tous des journées plus stressantes que d’autres, mais si vous pouvez trouver un moyen d’aider votre corps à se détendre et à relâcher les tensions, il sera plus facile pour votre esprit de se reposer. Cela inclut aussi bien des tâches mentales comme la méditation ou les exercices de respiration profonde, que des activités physiques comme le yoga ou les étirements. Voici quelques idées sur les moyens d’améliorer votre sommeil et ainsi éviter la fatigue.

Le stress

Le stress est un phénomène que nous subissons tous dans notre vie quotidienne. Les différents types de stress peuvent être physiques (sous la forme de mauvaises postures et de mouvements répétitifs), chimiques (en raison de l’alimentation, de ce que nous respirons, de l’hydratation, des des drogues, médicaments ou encore de l’alcool), émotionnels (en raison d’un traumatisme émotionnel) ainsi que des nombreuses habitudes non adaptées à la santé.

la colonne vertébrale

La colonne vertébrale est importante pour la protection de la moelle épinière. La moelle épinière contient les messages qui sont envoyés entre le cerveau et les différentes parties du corps. Ces messages sont essentiels pour transmettre des informations sur les sensations, les mouvements, l’équilibre et d’autres fonctions.

La sciatique

Si vous ressentez une douleur dans la région du dos et des fesses, des picotements ou un engourdissement le long de la cuisse ou du mollet, qui irradie vers l’arrière du genou ou du pied, vous souffrez probablement d’une sciatique. La compression sciatique peut provoquer des sensations de fourmillement dans un ou plusieurs orteils ainsi que des difficultés à contrôler les muscles de la région pelvienne.

Pourquoi la Chiropraxie ?

Pourquoi la Chiropraxie ?

Pourquoi la Chiropraxie ?La chiropraxie: une réponse naturelle, non-médicamenteuse, à la fois préventive et curative. Les soins chiropratiques sont le traitement de santé alternatif le plus utilisé...

Hernie discale

La cause profonde d’une hernie discale n’est pas toujours claire, mais il existe plusieurs facteurs qui peuvent contribuer à leur développement. Consulter un chiropracteur dans le cadre d’une hernie permettra d’élaborer un plan de soin adapté pouvant inclure des exercices physiques et d’autres traitements chiropratiques

Douleurs de mâchoire

Lorsque votre mâchoire est mal alignée, elle exerce une pression sur d’autres parties de votre corps. Cela provoque un stress dans des endroits comme le bas du dos ou le cou, ce qui peut entraîner des douleurs de mâchoire. Les soins chiropratiques aident à rétablir un alignement correct, de sorte que vous n’ayez plus à souffrir de douleurs causées par un mauvais alignement !

La cruralgie

La cruralgie est un type de douleur qui affecte le bas du dos et les jambes. Elle est le plus souvent causée par une mauvaise mécanique corporelle, des spasmes musculaires ou une hernie discale. Les soins chiropratiques se sont avérés être un moyen efficace de réduire la douleur chronique et d’améliorer la mobilité

La lombalgie

Les douleurs dans le bas du dos sont un problème commun à de nombreuses personnes. Elle peut être causée par divers facteurs, comme une mauvaise posture, le stress et l’arthrite. Il existe un certain nombre de moyens de soulager la lombalgie, comme l’application de glace ou de chaleur, les étirements et les exercices, et les analgésiques. Les soins chiropratiques peuvent également être bénéfiques pour soulager les douleurs lombaires.

La névralgie cervico-brachiale

La névralgie cervico-brachiale est un type de lésion nerveuse qui provoque des douleurs dans le bras, l’épaule et le cou.La douleur se déplace souvent et il peut être difficile de déterminer d’où elle provient. Ce type de névralgie est une compression du nerf qui peut être causée par une pression provenant de l’extérieur ou de l’intérieur des cervicales.